American Legion Emblem


National Oratorical Contest
5-7 April, 2019
Wyndham Indianapolis West Hotel, 2544 Executive Dr.
Indianapolis, IN 46241.
Kansas Oratorical Contest
16 March 2019, 9:00 AM
American Legion Post 17
114 McCall Rd., Manhattan
District Oratorical Contests

District I
23 February, 2019, 10:00 AM
American Legion Post 400
3029 US-24, Topeka, KS
District II
16 February, 2019, 10:00 AM
American Legion Post 153
410 E Dennis Ave, Olathe
District III
3 February,2019
American Legion Post 149
100 W Washington, Howard
District IV
16 February, 2019
American Legion Post 17
114 McCall Rd., Manhattan
District V
17 February, 2019, 1:00 PM
The Independent School
8317 E Douglas Ave., Wichita
District VI
District VII
10 February, 2019, 1:00 PM
Little River High School
430 Waverly St., Little River, KS
District VIII
10 February, 2019, 1:00 PM
American Legion Post 47
801 S 14th St., Dodge, KS

Find your district

The purpose of The American Legion High School Oratorical Scholarship Program “A Constitutional Speech Contest” is to develop a deeper knowledge and appreciation of the Constitution of the United States among high school students. Other objectives of the contest include the development of leadership qualities, the ability to think and speak clearly and intelligently, and the preparation for acceptance of the duties and responsibilities, the rights and privileges of American citizenship.

Scholarships awarded at National Competition:

Level of Competition Scholarship
National 1st Place Winner $18,000
2nd Place $16,000
3rd Place $14,000
2nd Round Finalists $1,500
All State Finalists $1,500

Scholarships awarded at State Competition:

State 1st Place Winner $750
2nd Place $500
3rd Place $250
4th Place $150

If the winner of the State Competition is not availble to attend the National Competition, the 2nd place contestant can compete in their place.  Only contestants who compete at the national competition receive the $1,500 'State Finalist' scholarship from the national organization.

Kansas high school students interested in competing in a District contest must complete a Contestant Entry Form and send it to the address on the form at least two weeks prior to the District Contest.  Contact Department Headquarters with any questions: 785-232-9315.

Find your district

2018 State Contestants

Contestant Entry Form

Official Rules

Chairman's Guide



District Oratorical Chairmen

District I

Chairmen A. C. Byrd, 14187 Nottingham Dr., Leavenworth, KS  660487, 913-727-1472;

District II

Chairmen Rick Miller, 1709 E. Sheridan Bridge Lane,  Olathe, KS  66062, 913-449-1551; 

District III


District IV

Chairman Keith Melick8205 Renner Road #3, Lenexa, KS 66219,;

District V

Chairman Joe Hicks, 636 S Highland, Andover, KS  67002, 316-295-7340;

District VI

Chairman Everett Miller, 430 W 17th St., Concordia, KS  66901  785-243-1920;

District VII

Chairman Max Alber, PO Box 261, Little River, KS  67457, 620-242-8116; 

District VIII

Chairman Charles Sellens, 513 Andrews St., Dodge City, KS  67801, 620-255-9340; 

© 2019 Department of Kansas | All Rights Reserved

Headquarters Administration